h1

Kelpie dash

May 29, 2016

MoodyKelpies01

I popped over to the entrance of the Forth & Clyde canal mid-week to help a chum who was taking Pampero, their Moody Eclipse over to the west coast. The Moody’s mast had been taken down at crane-out last year, so there wasn’t really much manual effort required.

MoodyKelpies02

While I was ready to fend off at all of the tricky bits, there weren’t any problems, so my input didn’t amount to much more than catching and returning lines. Due to other commitments, I wasn’t able to make the two-day trip from Grangemouth through to Bowling, but at least I managed to see them through the first couple of hundred metres.

MoodyKelpies03

This was the first time that I had returned to the Kelpies since our time there last summer, and as I stood at the lock the memories came flooding back [click here for more info].

Once the Moody was safely on a pontoon, we were treated to tea and chocolate biscuits by the skipper. Not chocolate-flavoured biscuits; real chocolate biscuits on account of me being a guest rather than crew. Maybe it’s just as well I wasn’t able to spare the time, as I bet the skipper made the crew sleep out on deck!

Leave a Reply

