h1

Boats n’ ho-ho-hos

December 24, 2017

With the party season well under way and the big day just around the corner, the crew has been asking me what I want for Christmas for several weeks now. I had been considering a sailing watch; I looked at digital ‘smart’ watches with GPS features, but didn’t see anything that floated my boat.

In terms of more traditional watches for sailors, I’m not personally convinced about the way the Rolex Yacht-Master Rainbow watch looks [see here]. For a start I think I’d prefer a metal bracelet strap to the rubber one that comes with it. However for this 2017 pre-owned example even with the £5,000 discount currently on offer, the reduced sticker price of £74,950 still costs substantially more than our yacht. So even if the Yacht-Master Rainbow was to my taste …at that price I think I’d be replacing our yacht not my watch.

This year regrettably we failed to make it to the local for a festive meal with our chums from the club, but there will be other opportunities over the holidays. Besides, at this time of the year a trip to the local without bumping into a couple of our friends would be virtually impossible. By my reckoning crane-in is now just over three months away, so if we spend enough time “topping up” in the pub …we’ll be back in the water in the blink of a bleary eye.

Over the holidays we plan to head off on coastal road trips checking out potential cruising destinations that in all likelihood we won’t make it anywhere near during the coming season, but at some point in the dim and distant future we might just visit. Pointless? Well it keeps us out of the aforementioned pub and gives us a boat fix of sorts.

With the winter solstice now behind us, season 2018 is gradually drawing closer. In the meantime fellow sailing aficionados there’s some partying to be done – a very Merry Christmas to you and yours. Sláinte!

Leave a comment